General News

Bevan Slattery Inducted Into Hall of Fame for CommsDay's Telecom Industry Awards

The Australian telecom market held its collective breath last night as the winners of the inaugural CommsDay Edison Awards were announced in front of 300-strong Sydney audience.There were forty finalists competing across the 16 categories ranging from Best Cloud Provider to Best Fixed Wireless Operator and Best Mobile Operator.And whilst it was a particularly strong performing night for Telstra and Optus who each took home multiple gongs, it was the induction of two prominent telco leaders into the Hall of Fame that drew wide praise.

Bevan Slattery Inducted To Hall of Fame

Current NBN Chair and former Telstra CEO, Ziggy Switkowksi, and Cloudscene's Founder, Bevan Slattery, have four decades of telecommunications experience between them and became the first inductees into the CommsDay Hall of Fame.Bevan Slattery, who is also the CEO of Superloop and Chairman of Megaport, said: "It's an honor and privilege to work in this industry. I get to do what I love every day. How lucky is that?”CommsDay founder Grahame Lynch said the finalists were judged by a panel of twelve and that the high quality of the finalists made the selection process difficult but that it was only a "reflection on the high standards and competitiveness of Australia’s telecommunications industry."The full list of winners and finalists of the remaining awards were:

  • Best cloud providerWINNER: Telstra. FINALIST: BigAir, Cisco
  • Best data centre operatorWINNER: Metronode. FINALISTS: Equinix, NextDC
  • Best fixed wireless operatorWINNER: BigAir. FINALISTS: NBN, Optus, Vertel
  • Best IoT/M2M companyWINNER: NNN Co. FINALISTS: Challenge Networks, Cisco, Huawei, Telstra, Vodafone
  • Best satellite companyWINNER: Optus Satellite
  • Best broadband provider/ISPWINNER: Telstra. FINALISTS: Aussie Broadband, Foxtel, Optus, iiNet, Internode, TPG
  • Best mobile operatorWINNER: Telstra. FINALISTS: Optus, Vodafone
  • Best telecom core network vendorWINNER: Nokia. FINALIST: Ericsson
  • Best telecom software or support system vendorWINNER: ECConnect. FINALIST: Cisco
  • Best voice and hosted PBX providerWINNER: MNF. FINALISTS: Aussie Broadband, Symbio, Vocus
  • Best virtual network operatorWINNER: Amaysim. FINALISTS: Foxtel, NextDC, Southern Phone Company, Symbio
  • Best streaming video on demand providerWINNER: Foxtel. FINALIST: Optus
  • Best telecom marketing initiativeWINNER: Huawei. FINALISTS: Cisco, Telstra
  • Best telecom law firmWINNER: King & Wood Mallesons. FINALISTS: Bird & Bird, Clayton Utz, Maddocks
  • Best mobile deviceWINNER: Optus X Sleek Smartphone

Find out more about the Australian telecommunications sector via Cloudscene's market page. Missed our announcement on Cloudscene's 2017 Global Top Ten Colocation Ecosystems? Read it here

Get started with Cloudscene today

Create a free account to start searching, sourcing, and selling the easy way.

Sign Up Free